Committees appointed by the Board shall consist of standing committees, temporary committees, and special committees. The President shall annually appoint members to all standing committees at the first regular meeting following the Board reorganization meeting. Standing committees shall consist of Student Achievement, Financial, Personnel, Buildings and Grounds, Policy, and Athletics. Temporary or special committees may be established by a majority vote of the quorum of Board members present at a regular or special meeting.

Special committees may be formed or a standing or temporary committee expanded by the Board for specific purposes. Each committee will be clearly instructed on the length of time each member is being asked to serve; service the Board wishes the committee to render; extent and limitations of its responsibilities; resources the Board will provide; approximate dates on which the Board wishes to receive major written reports; Board policies governing citizen committees and the relationship of these committees to the Board as a whole, individual Board members, the District Administrator and other professional staff members; and responsibilities for the release of information to the press. Temporary or special committees may include Negotiations, Recruiting, and others as deemed appropriate by the Board.

Committees will maintain a record of proceedings and will report at meetings as directed by the Board, or the President. A committee must have at least 10 days notice to require written report to the Board. Recommendations of special committees will be based on research and fact. All recommendations will be channeled to the Board through the member designated as the committee chairman or through the District Administrator. The committee functions until its assigned goal has been accomplished, and then it is dissolved. The Board retains the sole power to dissolve a special committee at any time during the life of the committee.

First Reading: February 16, 2010
Second Reading: March 2, 2010
Date Approved: March 2, 2010


For the Board: Tom Steiner, President; Lynn Jaeger, Vice President; Cole Marshall, Clerk; Bill Barhyte, Treasurer; Sue Giovanni, Member